Korean women’s tennis advances to the national competition Billie Jean King Cup for the second consecutive year

1 minute, 40 seconds Read
From the left, Soo-jeong Jang, Da-bin Kim, director Jeong-bae Kim, So-hyun Park, and Yeon-woo Koo.

The Korean women’s tennis team advanced to the Billy Jean King Cup Playoffs (PO), a national competition, for the second consecutive year.

The Korean national team, led by coach Kim Jeong-bae, lost 1-2 against China on the last day of the 2024 Billy Jean King Cup Asia-Oceania Regional Group 1 tournament held in Changsha, Hunan Province, China on the 13th.

Six countries, including Korea, China, India, New Zealand, Chinese Taipei, and Pacific Oceania, competed in this competition, and the top two countries advance to the playoffs. Korea recorded 3 wins and 2 losses, ranking second after China (5 wins), and qualified for the playoffs. won. 카지노사이트

If Korea lost to China that day, there was a high possibility that it would finish in 3rd place, but India, which defeated Korea the day before, ended up in 2nd place thanks to being caught 1-2 by New Zealand.

Korea, India, and New Zealand each had 3 wins and 2 losses, and Korea, which was the leader in match goals and losses, ranked second.

Korea advanced to the playoffs in second place in this competition last April, but lost 0-4 in the away playoffs to Brazil in November and fell back to regional group 1 this year.

Last year was the first time in 25 years since 1998 that Korean women’s tennis passed the Billy Jean King Cup regional preliminary round, and this year it was promoted to the playoffs for the second year in a row.

The Billy Jean King Cup consists of the Finals, which is the world round of 16, the Qualifiers, which are the stages immediately before that, the Playoffs, which determine the teams that will advance to the Finals, and the 1st and 2nd groups for each region.

Korea succeeded in advancing to the playoffs in this tournament with a national team consisting of Jang Soo-jeong (241st place, Daegu City Hall), Park So-hyun (301st place), Koo Yeon-woo (468th place, Seongnam City Hall), and Kim Da-bin (682nd place, Gangwon Provincial Office). 안전 슬롯사이트

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *